The initiative for an Alaska minimum wage was certified by the lieutenant governor and will be on the primary election ballot on August 19. In a recent poll, a majority of Alaska voters supported the minimum wage measure. A new poll from Dittman Research for the Republican Legislative Majorities shows that this initiative is supported by 69% of voters.
The state has historically had the highest minimum wage in the nation for four decades after statehood, but in recent years Alaska has fallen to 17th place. Today, an average family of three earning the minimum wage in Alaska earns approximately $16,120 per year. The minimum wage in Alaska is nearly two-thirds of the federal poverty level. In 2003, the Alaska Legislature repealed a cost-of-living adjustment mechanism that had allowed the state’s minimum wage to increase. Had this mechanism been in place, the state’s minimum wage would have been $9.53.
Alaska minimum wage
In addition, some states allow employers to take tips into account when calculating the minimum wage. In Alaska, however, employers cannot use tip credits toward an employee’s minimum wage. Instead, employers must pay the standard minimum wage to all employees who receive tips. While Alaska does not allow tip credit, some employers still do. However, this is only allowed if the tips are distributed among tipped employees.
https://minimumwagess.com/what-is-alaskas-minimum-wage/ If you want to learn about Alaska minimum wage, you can click on it.
In January 2015, the state’s minimum wage was raised by $1. It is currently $8.75 per hour, but it is projected to reach $9.84 by the end of 2016. However, there are several instances in which this wage increase is not applicable. For more information, visit the state’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development.
Another law that is relevant to the minimum wage in Alaska is the child labor act. Under this law, employers cannot exploit minor employees. They must also comply with the Alaska Child Labor Law, which limits the number of hours minors can work in a week. However, this does not apply to pregnant women. However, the state’s FLSA law does not allow employers to discriminate against these mothers.
Alaska minimum wage in 2022
In addition, employers should follow the laws on wages and benefits. Alaska does not require employers to conduct drug tests, but employers must provide a final paycheck within three days after termination. Employers must also follow the law in regards to record keeping, wages, and timecards. They must maintain these records for two years, and time cards must be available for Department representatives.
Alaska minimum wage and overtime laws are designed to protect workers from being exploited by employers. The FLSA provides tests to determine whether a worker is eligible for overtime. If an employer employs four or fewer employees, it does not have to follow the overtime laws. For employees who work more than 40 hours per week, the state minimum wage will be equal to the federal minimum wage.